The College of the Resurrection has four core members of teaching/research staff who share responsibility for the formation and pastoral care of our students.

College Lecturers

The Right Rev’d Mark Sowerby is the principal and teaches Pastoral
Theology and “Preparation for Public Ministry”.



The Rev’d Dr Dorothea H. Bertschmann is the Academic Dean and teaches Biblical Studies and Pauline Theology (Postgraduate level).



The Rev’d Dr Tony Carroll is Dean of Systematic Theology and teaches Systematic Theology and Ethics.




The Rev’d David Babbington is Dean of Pastoral Studies.  Fr David teaches Pastoral Theology, Theological Reflection and Preaching, Systematic and Pastoral Theology as well as Ethics and Theological Reflection.



The Rev’d Dr Jo Kershaw teaches Liturgy and is a Group Tutor, sharing in the Common Life and worship of the College. Her appointment is half-time in College and the remainder of her time is spent working within the Mirfield Centre.

A number of external tutors are teaching their specialism on behalf of the College.

The Rev’d Dr Justin Mihoc earned his doctorate at Durham University in Early Patristic Reception of Acts and has extensive teaching experience at the Department of Theology and Religion in Durham. He teaches Church History and Patristics for the College.

The Rev’d Dr Steffan Mathias earned his PhD in Old Testament Studies at King’s College London. He teaches Old Testament at level 5 for the College.

Fr Oswin Gartside is the Superior of the Community of the Resurrection and teaches Theology of Mission at level 5. He received his PhD in theology in cross-cultural contexts from the University of Leeds.

Fr Thomas Seville and Fr George Guiver are members of the Community of the Resurrection and contribute teaching to Systematic Theology and Liturgical Studies respectively.

We also invite guest lecturers for our Theme Weeks e.g. in Christian-Islamic relationships and Reconciliation.

College Staff

Mrs Alison Lewis
College Secretary and PA to the Principal